Award Recipients


Annual Awards Save the Date 2019.png


Our 2019 Annual Awards Dinner Celebrating Our Game Changers will take place on

Thursday, March 21st

at the Aqua Turf Country Club in Plantsville.

Don't miss this spectacular event where athletes, volunteers and sponsors will be recognized for their many years of dedication to Special Olympics Connecticut. More details coming soon!

Our Golden Gala was held in 2018 in place of the Hall of Fame event.
2017 Hall of Fame award recipients include:
Outstanding Local Program - Special Olympics Oxford
Hall of Fame Awards
Eunice Murtha Award - Shane Fitzsimons
Community Leadership Award - NBC Connecticut
Lew Perkins Coach Award - Derrick Ford
Sheila Schmidt Award - Joseph Dennin
Bozzuto Family Award - The Kopcso Family
Susan Saint James Award - Catherine Kortlandt
Eunice Kennedy Shriver Award - Sharon Rivera
Spirit of Life Awards
Vincent Acquaotta
Martin Cruz
Warren Hartleb
John Turbeville
Jonathan Brangi
Lizzie Reynolds
Paige Beardsworth
Amari Denzel Timmons
Unsung Hero Awards
Bob Switzgable
Rob DeMezzo
Chris Keever
Tom Martin
Tahj McCall
Renee DiNino
Dr. Christopher Agro
Michelle Plucenik
Jarrod Viens
Katherine Kalisz
Joseph Herten 

President’s Awards are presented to those who have made outstanding contributions to Special Olympics Connecticut.