Award Recipients


The Hall of Fame event will NOT be held in 2018. Instead, we at Special Olympics Connecticut will host a 50th Anniversary Golden Gala on March 22nd at the Aqua Turf Club to celebrate our milestone year! For more information about the Golden Gala, please click here.
2017 Hall of Fame award recipients include:
Outstanding Local Program - Special Olympics Oxford
Hall of Fame Awards
Eunice Murtha Award - Shane Fitzsimons
Community Leadership Award - NBC Connecticut
Lew Perkins Coach Award - Derrick Ford
Sheila Schmidt Award - Joseph Dennin
Bozzuto Family Award - The Kopcso Family
Susan Saint James Award - Catherine Kortlandt
Eunice Kennedy Shriver Award - Sharon Rivera
Spirit of Life Awards
Vincent Acquaotta
Martin Cruz
Warren Hartleb
John Turbeville
Jonathan Brangi
Lizzie Reynolds
Paige Beardsworth
Amari Denzel Timmons
Unsung Hero Awards
Bob Switzgable
Rob DeMezzo
Chris Keever
Tom Martin
Tahj McCall
Renee DiNino
Dr. Christopher Agro
Michelle Plucenik
Jarrod Viens
Katherine Kalisz
Joseph Herten 

President’s Awards are presented to those who have made outstanding contributions to Special Olympics Connecticut.